RIP Brother Gil S-H Mix

Another dear brother leaves for the Mother Ship. RIP Gil Scott Heron

c90lounge

gil scott poloroid

2016 is already a bumper year for the claiming of musical icons. One from each genre leaves the earthly stage about once a month. Bowie, Haggard and now Gil Scott-Heron.

There is so much to say about this man and I may share my thoughts later in another place, but for now here is a slice of the man’s poetic and musical and political genius.

Track Listing:

01 Bicentennial Blues

02 Winter in America (solo version) 2

03 17th Street

04 Lady Day and John Coltrane

05 Where Did the Night Go

06 Sharing

07 The Vulture

08 Shut β€˜Em Down (Live) 2

09 Washington D.C. (Live) 2

10 Guerilla 2

11 Possum Slim

12 A Talk : Bluesology, Black History, Jaws, The Revolution Will Not Be Televised (live from Wax Museum, Washington DC) 2

13 Peace Go With You, Brother

14 The Liberation Song (Red, Black and Green)

15…

View original post 71 more words

6 thoughts on “RIP Brother Gil S-H Mix

    1. Nate Rabe Post author

      David,
      Silly me! I know that. I saw a Tweet that referenced his passing and rushed to conclusions. As soon as I posted this I realized what a dick I was, especially since when he did pass many years ago I was heartbroken and actually posted a piece on him! So eggs on my face. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Nate Rabe Post author

      Idiot me! know that. I saw a Tweet that referenced his passing and rushed to conclusions. As soon as I posted this I realized what a dick I was, especially since when he did pass many years ago I was heartbroken and actually posted a piece on him! So eggs on my face.:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

