Hundred Years On: Sister Rosetta Tharpe

A full century ago yesterday one of the most original and distinct voices in American gospel and blues music was born: Sister Rosette Tharpe.  I’ve put some of my favorite selections of her singing and playing together for you and a link to a good article on her from the good folks at Fusion.

rosetta tharp

Track Listing:

01 Family Prayer

02 Precious Lord

03 Rock Me No. 2

04 Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child

05 Didn’t It Rain

06 Down by the Riverside

07 I’m in His Care

08 That’s All

09 Can’t No Grave Hold My Body Down

10 Nobody Knows, Nobody Cares

11 Pure Religion

12 Heaven Is Not My Home

13 There Is Something Within Me

14 How About You

15 What’s the News

16 Up Above My Head There’s Music In The Air

17 My Journey To The Sky

18 I Claim Jesus First

19 Sit Down

20 Vacation in the Sky

21 99 1/2 Won’t Do

22 Forgive Me Lord and Try Me One More Time

23 Strange Things Happening Every Day

Sister!

Leave a Reply

