Gratitude for: Glen Campbell

images

Among my very first record purchases (or maybe it was a gift from a cousin) was a Glen Campbell album that had Wichita Lineman and Dreams of the Everyday Housewife on it.

He was big in the States at that moment. I had just arrived from India with absolutely no idea of TV or American pop culture. And Glen Campbell had his own show and was all over the radio. I related to him in a way that made sense to my 11 year old boyish soul. His hair was combed to the side but neatly over the years, not hanging over them like the ‘hippies’. For a couple of years he was my unconscious hair-do role model. His voice was ordinary which was nice…none of this freakish screaming ala Jim Morrison.   And, amazingly, I related to his songs.

Dream of the Everyday Housewife for some reason particularly made sense to me. Maybe because my mom was alone much of that year as Dad drove around the country drumming up support from churches for us to continue to live in India. But the sense of longing , of feeling that perhaps I’ve made the wrong choice, has my boat sailed without me, were feelings I’ve been haunted by throughout my life.

One thing I didn’t know at the time was that Mr. Campbell had already paid his dues in the music industry. Or rather, he’d been paid MANY MILLIONS of dues. He had been a tremendously successful session guitarist pulling in thousands of dollars a day back when a good annual salary hovered around $12,000. Sadly, on his records, including the one we share today, his skill as a picker is deeply hidden. A real pity.

So to start or end your day let’s recall the great Mr Glen Campbell who is still with us but only just. He’s gravely ill and I’m sure would appreciate some of our good thoughts, wherever they might come from.

imgres-1

Track Listing:

01 Rhinestone Cowboy

02 Both Sides Now

03 By The Time I Get To Phoenix

04 Gentle On My Mind

05 Too Many Mornings

06 Wichita Lineman

07 One Last Time

08 Don’t Pull Your Love_Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye

09 Reason To Believe

10 It’s Only Make Believe

11 Honey Come Back

12 Give Me Back That Old Familiar Feeling

13 Galveston

14 Dreams Of The Everyday Housewife

15 The Last Thing On My Mind

16 Where’s The Playground, Susie

17 Try A Little Kindness

18 Country Boy (You Got Your Feet In L.A.)

19 All I Have To Do Is Dream (With Bobbie Gentry)

20 Amazing Grace

G….C

5 thoughts on “Gratitude for: Glen Campbell

  1. beetor

    As always your words make me download music I would never have done otherwise. It’s strange to think that he’s on his way out, because in the picture he looks so fit and healthy and the epitome of the American dream. I find some of the tracks a bit glum, but there’s some really beautisul music in this collection. Thanks. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Barron

    You don’t happen to own a copy of “The Astounding 12-String Guitar of Glen Campbell”, do you? It was from 1964 and comparable to early Leo Kottke (if memory serves). I first heard it when it was new and I was a boy of twelve. I’ve never found a copy in any format. I’d love to hear it again.

    Reply
  3. Barron

    Addendum: I guess I haven’t looked recently enough. “The Astounding 12-String Guitar of Glen Campbell” is now available on Amazon. I wonder if it will delight me as much as it did 50 years ago?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

