The Man: Muddy Waters

Muddy Waters

Muddy Waters

I’m on the road for the next few weeks. Fiji today, Solomon Islands tomorrow. Not much time to go before I head off to all day meetings and then a flight back to Nadi later this evening. So will share a nice album from the greatest bluesman of all time, Mr. McKinley Morganfield.


Part of Universal’s Authorized Bootleg series, this disc combines 15 highlights from Muddy Waters‘ multi-night stint at San Francisco’s Fillmore Auditorium in November 1966. These shows may have been held at a famous rock venue but these recordings have more in common with the performances Muddy gave on the blues and folk festival circuit in the mid-’60s. Muddy and the band are tight and professional, running through numbers they’ve played many times – of the 15 tracks, “Forty Days and Forty Nights,” “Hoochie Coochie Man,” “Rock Me,” “Baby Please Don’t Go” are all repeated – and they don’t push, they’re so relaxed they even let the tempo almost drag at times. This means there’s not much kinetic energy here, but it’s not bland either: Muddy is always a powerful, compelling center and there’s some prickly ice-pick thin guitar popping up in unexpected places. The professionalism keeps the two sets here enjoyable but it’s those slight surprises that make this worthwhile. (AMG)


Track Listing:

  1. Forty Days and Forty Nights
  2. (I’m Your) Hootchie Coochie Man
  3. Rock Me
  4. Baby, Please Don’t Go
  5. She Moves Me
  6. Got My Mojo Working
  7. You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had
  8. Forty Days and Forty Nights
  9. Baby, Please Don’t Go
  10. Thirteen Highway
  11. Rock Me
  12. Honey Bee (Sail On)
  13. Trouble No More
  14. (I’mYour) Hootchie Coochie Man
  15. Long Distance Call




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s